The 7 Wonders of the World

71 / 100

The architectural, artistic and historical treasures constitute the 7 wonders of the world. They are the most extraordinary human creations on the planet. What are they ? How were they chosen?

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

 What are the 7 wonders of the world?

Over time and civilizations, several monuments built around the world by human beings. Some of these works have truly marked the minds of men with their splendid beauty. And above all their fascinating architectural performance given the lack of development at the time.

 Why then are they called “the 7 wonders of the world”?

They are called “marvel” because these famous monuments are contemplated by everyone. Often treated as true masterpieces of the world. In particular by their beauty, their history, their cultural richness and their proportions.

Namely that some of these monuments took hundreds of years and especially the strength of thousands of workers to see the light of day. They are the legacies of entire civilizations that preceded us.

 How are the 7 wonders of the world selected?

The selection of the 7 wonders organized by the New Seven Wonders Foundation (and not by UNESCO as everyone might think). A private organization active following the initiative of a Swiss businessman, Bernard Weber.

Bernard Weber wanted to establish a real list of the most beautiful creations of the modern world. To replace the 7 wonders of the ancient world. Of which only a single wonder still exists to this day.

This is how a jury made up of world-renowned architects discussed to select from 21 sites and monuments around the world. From antiquity until today, considered as the most unique and exceptional in the world.

The criteria ranged from aesthetics to architectural achievement. Also passing through the artistic and sacred character of the work, as well as the historical significance of the place of construction.

The vote is then published for several million Internet users, via the new7wonders.com website. And the ranking of the 7 wonders of the modern world published on July 7, 2007 in Lisbon, Portugal.

 What are the 7 wonders of the world?

Here are the monuments and sites selected by world-renowned architects who make up the 7 wonders of the world:

 1. The Great Wall of China

Formerly intended to protect the country from foreign invasions from the north of the country, the Great Wall of China has become a real ancient vestige whose construction spanned more than 2000 years.

La grande muraille de Chine
La grande muraille de Chine

This staggering set of ramparts and fornications of stones worth 6700 kilometers in length, is the most important and impressive human structure ever built in terms of mass, length and surface.


If the exact number of workers is unknown for the realization of this work, it is estimated that it really took between 30,000 and 1200,000 peasants, prisoners and soldiers to overcome this colossal site.

 2. Petra, Jordan

The lost city of Petra, located in Jordan, is one of the most visited prehistoric sites in the Middle East. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, this place built 300 BC by the Nabataean people has a bewitching and supernatural aura.

Pétra, Jordanie

The symbolic facade of the Khazneh tomb, “the Treasury”, is a small architectural gem of the place, with carved engravings and columns in the red-orange rock of the cliff.

 3. The Statue of Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The statue dominates the city of Rio de Janeiro from Mount Corcovado, it is with this statue of Christ the Redeemer that we recognize Brazil, it has become an emblem.

It measures 38 meters in height and its weight is equivalent to 1145 tons, it is difficult not to do without it and to feel the colossal side of this religious sculpture.

Christ rédempteur, Brésil

Unlike the two previous monuments, the “Cristo Redentor” is not that old since it was inaugurated only in 1931, after almost only 9 years of construction.

 4. Machu Picchu in Peru

Machu Pichu is perched 2438 meters above sea level on top of a high mountain covered in mist. So somewhere between the Amazon rainforest and the Andes, rises the legendary Inca city of Machu Picchu.


Was the city a religious sanctuary or place of residence of the Inca emperor Pachacútec? Several historians still ask questions today about the origins of this famous village entirely built in stone.

 5. The archaeological site of Chichén Itzá in Mexico

Machu Picchu was for the Inca civilization, but Chichén Itzá belongs to the Mayan civilization. Dating back nearly a millennium, the site of Chichén Itzá is located in the Yucatán Peninsula was built in homage to the deity Kukulcán, the famous Feathered Serpent.

Chichén Itzá
Chichén Itzá

El Castillo, the important pyramid-shaped temple with 365 steps, is among the best-protected monuments in all of Mexico.

 6. The Colosseum in Rome, Italy

The Colosseum is a sumptuous amphitheater. This iconic monument can accommodate nearly 50,000 spectators during an event.

Colisée Rome
Colisée, Rome

This monument was a mecca for entertainment during the Roman Empire with gladiator fights, public executions of convicts, slaughter of wild animals, chariot races and theatrical reparations of famous battles.


Despite the damage caused by earthquakes over the centuries in Italy, the Colosseum in Rome remains one of the finest examples of Roman architecture to this day.

 7. The Taj Mahal, India

The eminent palace of the Taj Mahal, near the city of Agra in modern India, is the most important edifice of all Indo-Islamic architecture. It was built under the impulse of the then Mughal emperor Shah Jahan, who wanted by his ideas to erect a white marble mausoleum in homage to his late wife.

Le Taj Mahal, Inde
Le Taj Mahal, Inde

Its very intricate and worked style today radiates a unique beauty and makes the Taj Mahal a moving ode to eternal love.

Written by Purebanger

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

please disable the adblockers from your browser settings, turn off the Ad Blocker before you will be able to connect to our site.